Library Science 2016

gradnick

Anyone applying for 2016? 

I am way behind, and it was only some encouragement from my coworkers (librarians) that I have seriously considered it.  I doubt that I will get in for Fall  2016, but I'm making the push, so I"m wondering anyone else here is applying for 2016?

If it counts, I'm applying for a dual MA degree with History of Science and MLIS here at the University of Oklahoma (the school I currently work for).

To be honest though, I'm not really all that concerned with getting in. I've worked within the university's library system for 10 years, and 9 of those were in management. One of my letters is from the branch I work for's director. I'd be shocked if I didn't get in.

Where are you considering apply to? What sort of librarianship are you interested in? :) This forum doesn't get enough traffic. We should change that.

I've been working in one of our nyc's main public library for 10 years.  I had been thinking about a MLIS for awhile now, but my undergrad grades are less than impressive.  And I notice most programs require the GRE, which is a bigger mountain to climb for me, which is why I doubt I'll make it for Fall 2016.   I'd like to pursue public librarianship.  They have phased out specialties amongst the librarians where I currently work.  I don't know if that is something they are doing in other places.

Right now, considering Pratt, St. Johns U, Rutgers, Simmons, Queens College

Sounds like you're in a similar situation to myself.

Library school is a quirky animal. I would never suggest a MA program without experience. Experience seems to weigh quite a bit, but given how much experience both of us have, I think the degree would help us. 

I'm not sure how it is on the east coast, but I don't think MLIS programs tend to be overly competitive, at least no where near as competitive as other disciplines. Like I stated, I'd be shocked if I didn't get into the program I applied to.