University of Maryland, College Park

I know Ralph is busy matching admits and waitlisters with students and faculty, but in case you felt more comfortable asking questions here, please go ahead! I'm a third year PhD student in the program. I am on the rhet/comp track but am an English student, so I can answer most questions about the department and program in general. Also, I can try to answer questions about where the heck to live, probably the most common question current students get. 

Hi ProfLorax!

I have a couple questions. At the moment, I am taking a grad class "for fun" to occupy the time while I wait for a decision. In the class, I noticed a lot of disciple diversity, meaning a lot of students from disciplines outside of English. Is this a common thing?

Also, how do you find the student support to be? Is it difficult for students to connect with each other? I have always gone to commuter schools, so relationships among the students are pretty weak, as everyone is always running around.

My last question is whether students find (or found) it possible to live off their stipend or if they find themselves waitressing / bartending? I'm in NYC, so even the grad students often pick up side work to make ends meet (especially those with families with little or no support from a partner).

Hi DJS!