American Studies programs

Hey all,

I plan on applying to American Studies, and other interdisciplinary PhD programs, for fall 2017. I've done plenty of research on my own, but wanted to know if any of you had suggestions for programs that have professors who research in the critical whiteness studies realm. I plan on doing my research primarily on whiteness in social movements in the U.S. (allyship, "woke"ness), as well as study political correctness, and white masculinity. 

My academic profile is 3.86 undergrad GPA (History major, Philosophy minor), co-founded undergrad journal, 1 paper published, 2 conferences. Fulbright ETA, Humanity in Action fellowship, and worked on Bernie Sanders campaign as field organizer. Although not totally related, I was also a freelance journalist for NY Daily News in HS sports. Will be taking GRE in October. I expect to have strong references, and I'm a good writer, so I'm not very concerned about writing solid POS/SOP.

Any advice on programs would be much appreciated! Thanks!

• 3 weeks later...
  • 3 months later...

The American Studies thread seems quiet this year. I have already applied to three American Studies programs with about 5 more to come in January. Good Luck to everyone!!!

@kekology4I am also applying to Yale and Harvard. I decided not to apply to NYU even though I love New York.

@CWS2017Consider Roediger's legacy and spaces he's influenced. But also bear in mind that while it's critical to study whiteness, some faculty or departments resist the critical whiteness model because it yet again centers whiteness. I'd look at programs with great critical race theorists (of which there are many). I sat in on a lecture at UMD and thought they were doing outstanding work. As for your background, you're a strong candidate, but it's all about fit. Make sure your interests align clearly with at least two faculty and the departmental mission. 

• 2 weeks later...
19 hours ago, NoirFemme said: