2017 Canadian Application Thread!

Hi!

I thought I would start a thread about Canadian schools since they're slightly different. :)

I'm going to apply this fall and it's my first time applying (only applying to UBC and Alberta). I want to hear what schools you're all applying to and the process.

Thought I would get the conversation start!

• 2 weeks later...

Oh cool! I was planning on applying to east coast schools but I was too lazy and didn't want to take the anatomy and physiology pre-req! 

Does anyone know when applications open for Alberta? I can't seem to find a date on their website.

• 3 weeks later...

Oh wow, the new SLP program looks pretty good, at least how they introduce it. It does seem like they are still waiting for accreditation, but it's still exciting that there are 27 more seats for this cycle.

Would anyone like to chat about what you have been hearing about how competitive the programs are? I was looking at Alberta and they just up'ed their competitive average to 90%...what does that even mean? If you have around 90% that you'll most likely get in? 

Very exciting about the new program at McMaster! It's nice to have another program in the mix. 

Most of the knowledge I have about how competitive the programs are comes from reading discussions on this board from previous years, and wow, its intimidating! From what I've read, it seems a lot of the schools have a sort of cut off sub-GPA. I think it depends on the school, the year, and pool of applicants, but it looks like a lot of people who are accepted have sub-GPAs in the 3.8-4.0 range. This is just based on what I've read. 

If they're saying the competitive average is 90%, that doesn't necessarily mean you'll get in if you have around 90%. It just gives you an indication of the grades you need to have to be competitive against the other applicants - to have a chance of getting in! 

Hi everyone!

It's my first time applying this year, I'm wishing everyone the best! :D