Penn GSE

day_manderly

Got my GRE scores, time to start a thread for my top choice!

I am an international applicant.

Program: Higher Ed

Interests: international higher ed
GRE Score: V166 Q152 AWA 4.5 (makes me incredibly sad)

TOEFL: 113 out of 120.
GPA:  no idea, my schools didn't have it, but I was a stellar student, especially while doing my Master's
Work Experience: impressive, relevant, in my field, as a researcher, corresponds with my interests perfectly

SoP: will reflect the above, mention professors I've contacted, my plans for my thesis, etc.

LoRs: probably glowing, but only one from someone with some sort of a name in the field (common international applicant problem)
Undergrad Institution (Public, Private, Ivy, etc..):  one of top schools in my country, but it's not even visible in international rankings :P

Grad Institution: one of top schools in another country (outside US, not English-speaking world) - in the international rankings, but not like top 100
What Other Schools Are You Applying To:
Lynch, UMich, HGSE, UMass (probably, still have to contact somebody there), maybe Stanford, Vanderbilt, maybe Texas Austin

What do you think?

• 3 weeks later...

I don't know if this is what @MAC2809 is referring to, but Penn has a notorious low acceptance rate in their Ed programs. According to US News rankings, they accept 4.5% of applicants. Don't let this deter you though! People apply and get accepted to programs with low acceptance rates and rejected from programs with high acceptance rates. At the end of the day, the 'admissions game' doesn't always make sense. 

• 2 weeks later...
  1. On 11/22/2016 at 2:26 PM, emilb34 said: