Weaker grades in my last 2 years of college due to working

trajanED

Question

I'm about to finish college (Bachelor's in Computer Science) and I've been thinking about applying for a master's degree. I got really good grades in my first year of college, I was in the top 5% students, but during my second and third year I worked full time as a software developer so my grades dropped quite a bit (receiving mostly unremarkable and even some poor grades in my second year). That is in great part due to my attendance, since for most of the subjects that I've had, your activity throughout the year influenced the final grade. I've been thinking that I can offer an explanation regarding this in my motivation letter, but I'm not sure just how in depth should this explanation be.

Should I just mention this situation it and leave it at that or should I also give out the reasons I thought focusing on my job, rather than my college classes, was worthwhile? 

I know that I've screwed up my chances for getting a master's degree at a really good university, but just how bad will this look, after all, I did work into a field closely related to my my field of study, so it can't be all bad, right?

4 answers to this question

My opinion is that you should not say anything to the effect of "I wanted to focus on my job, not my classes" when applying to academic programs such as the Masters programs.

What do you mean by "poor" grades? I am not sure if you mean Cs and Ds or Bs instead of As. If they were Bs, then you should say in your SOP that you were also working full time while in school and that you had to balance work and school. If you were getting Cs and Ds, then I would just say you were also working full time---I'd leave out the balance part since if you got Cs and Ds then I am not sure you can really say you were balanced.