Medieval Applicants (2018)

gnossienne n.3

Last year @loganondorf started a topic for medieval applicants in the Literature forum, which was a great little group for those of us who applied last year, regardless of discipline. I thought I'd poach it for the History forum this year!

So: if you're a medievalist, what are your areas of interest? What are your languages and how do you like to practice? Where are you thinking of applying? What are you up to at the moment?

I'm on my second application round, after successes with MA programs in the UK that unfortunately did not come with sufficient funding. I work on later medieval science and technology, with a focus on cross-cultural intellectual exchange. I'll be applying to MA and PhD programs (working on finalizing the list) and working on Latin and German in my free time! In addition to those, I have pretty reasonable working proficiency in French, which I learned in high school and college. I graduated a few years ago, so I've been living and working in NYC for the time being.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Medieval science is an absolutely fascinating topic! Send me a PM and I'll try to help you. 

I'm in late medieval/early modern science myself. I can speak as to the HoS side quite well, but the history side is better left to others. 

Edited by psstein

Hi there,

I study medieval England am applying this year to a few schools. I am interested in kingship, governance, authority, the church, and monasticism. Generally, I would say my interests fall within the sphere of "Church and State." I've got a few schools in mind, but my major university hope is the University of Houston where I've gotten to know one of the medievalists there pretty decently through email. She's been very, very supportive. I'd love to talk about any and everything.