Moving Somewhere New Alone

ashley623

I am a 22-year-old undergrad who is graduating in three weeks and applying for MA programs for Fall 2018. My entire life, I have always lived with either my dad or my mom and at least one sibling. The past two years, I have lived with my dad, sister, and two-year-old niece because my university is only twenty minutes from my house. 

All of my programs I am applying to are out-of-state in locations I don't know anyone -- some states, I haven't even been to! I am serious about moving; a huge reason I broke up with my boyfriend and strictly decided not to pursue any relationship whatsoever is because I don't want to be tied down here. I've lived in my current location for nearly my entire life, and am really discontent with it -- I absolutely know I don't want to live here forever. Most of my family will be moving away in the next few years, anyway. 

Even though the prospect of going somewhere new is very exciting, I'm also somewhat nervous. Sometimes I fall into the trap of feeling lonely, and am afraid to be so far from anyone I know. I will be taking my dog with me as well as my horse (although might wait a semester before shipping him up). Has anyone else felt like this when moving away for the first time to a totally new place? Any tips for dealing with the anxieties of it? 

All I can say is it is going to be OK and you will grow stronger out of it. I've moved half way across the world to a country I didn't even speak the language and it's been the best decision I've ever made. I'm moving again in a year to a country I probably haven't even been before or at least a city I haven't been before. Works for me. Adventurs are fun. There are people that you'll click with everywhere. Join a club, go on meetup.com, focus on what you gain from the move. The eventual challenges will become struggles, they won't be fun. But- speaking from experience - that will pass too. 

Enjoy!