Applying to MAPSS

urbanhistorynerd

Hello, I am applying to MAPSS at the University of Chicago with a specialization in history. I want you guys to tell me how my application looks.

I am majoring in history with departmental honors, and minoring in political philosophy. I have a 3.91 GPA, 8 400+ level courses, and my GRE scores are 167/154/5.5.

My LORs are extremely good. I've had classes with all three professors, two of which are in my field of study, and I have done research under one of them.

I recieved a $3,000 grant for undergraduate research from my university, and a $1,500 from my department. I wrote a 25 page research paper over the summer and published it in an undergraduate research journal. I've also written non-academic work for various websites. I am currently writing my honors thesis as well.

12 hours ago, astroid88 said:

Not sure what type of reassurance you are looking for. The stats seem good for any program. 

I feel like I need a little more time studying history before I embark upon a phd. Do you think I should apply to phd programs too?

16 minutes ago, kenalyass said:

I feel like I need a little more time studying history before I embark upon a phd. Do you think I should apply to phd programs too?