How hard it writing?

Hi all! I'm in my first semester and doing well. I am curious though about the writing process of other people. My classmates seem extremely stressed about the lit review we have as a final assignment. Without trying to backdoor brag, I have to say writing comes fairly easily to me. There are, of course, other areas that I'm weak in -- public speaking, for example -- but writing isn't one of them. I don't want to ask my classmates about it because I want to be sensitive to their distress. I'm interested to know if writing is as difficult for others as it seems to be for my fellow students.

It varies a lot per person. I know people who hate it, do it last minute because they can't get themselves to it, who have a hard time structuring things, etc. I personally enjoy writing, which I think helps with the quality of my work.

At the same time, I think writing becomes better and easier the more you do it (especially if someone gives you proper feedback). 

It varies person to person but also between stages. It is not the same to write a grant application in your first year than your fourth year. It is not the same to write a literature review as a paper for class than as part of your dissertation. 

That said, and without wanting to shake you confidence in any way, I am a little surprised that it is December 5 and it *looks* you haven't started writing this final paper? I am not questioning your writing skills, I'm just hinting that writing a literature review means connecting themes in books, which means to read a fair share of them. 

6 hours ago, snuz said: