Canadian Masters in English Lit

Hey!

I just finished applying to UBT UoT and McGill university. I know most people here are submitting to American schools but are there any applicants for Canada? Or people who already study there? I'm an international student and didn't have the time to do the GRE :(

Any luck for past applicants that know anything about the process?

• 1 month later...

I am! But I know nothing about it, ha. Last year I applied to Toronto and received a postal rejection in mid-March. Not sure if paper is typical or if that info is remotely helpful! I’m an American with an American BA. 

Oh! Also, for non-Canadians: Toronto received ~200 MA applications last year, had a class of somewhere between 30-45, and only accepted ONE non-Canadian. 

21 hours ago, la_mod said:

Oh! Also, for non-Canadians: Toronto received ~200 MA applications last year, had a class of somewhere between 30-45, and only accepted ONE non-Canadian. 

Wow that's insane!

I'm an American with a non American BA in English (currently in my final year).

I have yet to hear from any program, from what I understand that send them out much later than American schools. 

Good luck to you all!

What areas of focus are you all in?

I'm aiming for Early Modern Drama (Ford, Webster, Shakespeare)

2 hours ago, BlessMeWithSnow said:

I have yet to hear from any program, from what I understand that send them out much later than American schools. 

I think UBC tends to announce around the same time as American schools but that's all I know. 

I'm interested in postcolonial theory, and indigenous lit 

2 hours ago, BlessMeWithSnow said:

Wow that's insane!

I'm an American with a non American BA in English (currently in my final year).

Good luck to you all!

What areas of focus are you all in?

I'm aiming for Early Modern Drama (Ford, Webster, Shakespeare)

I’m C20 British! Mostly Modernism.