Admission to ms/phd without bachelors in biology

abcd1

Hello,

I am an international student planning to apply to an ms/phd program in biological sciences.

My problem is that due to personal/financial reasons i was not able to obtain a bachelors degree in biology. I have a recognized 4 years bachelors degree in business (with a good GPA and 2 years banking experience) but i always loved and wanted to study biology. For the last two years i have been taking some undergraduate science courses along with my job. Also i have studied very hard for the gre biology subject test and i am confident that i would be able to do very well in it in April. I have mailed some universities to ask if i can apply to a graduate/phd program in biology but am not getting any clear reply. Most universities say that as i have a 4 year degree (even though its not in biology)i am eligible to apply but competition would be very tough. What i want to ask is that even though i am eligible to apply, do i really have a realistic chance of getting admission? Would a good gre biology score make up for my deficiencies?

Also i am not aiming to get get into the best universities, i would be happy to get admission in any reasonably good university. So which universities should i consider applying to?

I would appreciate some advice as i really struggled through my business degree and am desperate to switch my field.

Thanks