American Applying to UCL in the UK

laurenmae130

Hey guys!

I think most of us understand entrance criteria for American grad schools (standard GPAs and GRE scores) but I'm looking to apply in Europe and need some advice. I graduated from Boston University, double majoring in International Relations and Economics. I graduated with a 3.5 (Cum Laude) but had a 3.6 in my Econ and math courses.

Right now I'm filling out an application to UCL (University College of London) for their Econ program. With my GPA, and a couple good references (one of my Econ professors is well known in his field and a past boss is writing another) as well as a semester abroad at LSE, do you think I have a good chance of getting in?

I'm a poor college grad and these application fees are piling up so I'm wondering if anyone can let me know if I'm wasting my time or not.

Thanks so much!

In my personal opinion, yes you do have a great chance of getting in! There are a lot of Americans who do the study abroad thing at UCL so they should be familiar with mainstream American universities. My friends at UCL come from Colorado (Boulder), Cornell and Emory.

Check the Fulbright Commission website too.

http://www.fulbright.co.uk/study-in-the-uk

Oh thanks for that link! It's helpful. And I certainly hope that UCL knows about US schools. That's one of the things I was most nervous about. I think Boston University is pretty well respected in the US, and it is frequently put on lists for good econ programs, but schools in the UK may not know this. My professor who wrote my reference is well respected, though. He has taught at Harvard and even taught Ben Bernanke (the Chairmen of the Fed for the US Bank...sorry, don't know if Brits know who he is). So hopefully that reference and my grades and my time at LSE will help!