Please help, I need to make a decision!

Hello All.

I posted a few weeks ago about deciding between BU or UIC unfunded masters programs. Initially, I thought that UICs high ranking and lower tuition would beat BU hands down. I have a few more considerations now, and still no decision:

1) UIC is much higher ranked according to the NRC rankings. I don't know how important these rankings are in "climbing the ladder" to a high ranked ph.D program.

2) UIC has a thesis option, but BU does not (it's a one year program). How important is a thesis in applying? I already know that I'll have to apply the year after I finished my masters if I attended BU.

3) UIC is 8 classes, HALF of which are required classes that are 400 level and open to undergraduates. This was a major red flag to me, but I'm still not sure as to how negatively this is viewed.

4) UIC has said in an email that they have "virtually no support" for 20th century American literature (my area of interest). BU has plenty of people working in 20th century American literature, and many resources for my theoretical interests. So fit is much better here.

I visited BU and loved it. The academic community seemed wonderful. UIC has not invited me to visit; however, I have been to Chicago several times and liked the city. Cost-wise, they both end up being the same (even though Chicago is 2 years and Boston is one).

HELP please. I am under pressure to make a decision!