No Eligibility for Fellowships due to previous graduate education?

biotechie

Here is the dilemma: I am a first year PhD student who has a better chance of getting into the lab she wants if she can be competitive for funding (like all of us). However, a problem I recently discovered with this is that I cannot apply for most fellowships. This would be because I have completed a masters degree in cellular physiology, so not only do I have previous graduate coursework, but I have two years of coursework.

Most applications state that you must have a year (sometimes two) or less total graduate experience. This immediately makes it impossible for me to apply for things like the NSF fellowships or those through the department of defense. Have any of you experienced this problem or have some advice for me? Do you know of any fellowships that I could still apply for?

I feel like I could be a strong applicant with a decent GPA if I could find things to apply for. I've spent time looking, but I come up empty. My research area will be in physiology, cell and molecular biology, translational biology, epigenetics, and potentially a little immunology.

I'm not very deep into the funding scene yet but I have run into the opposite problem.  I am an MS student and the only substantial funding sources I have been able to find for soil science based research is the NSF GRFP and Borlaug Fellows and the rest appear to be for PhD students and post-docs.  I suppose its really depending on the field of study though. 

It'd be worthwhile to ask some PI's you are interested in working with what graduate students in their labs typically do and/or cold call them yourself.