Grad school admission for an international student?

tethar

Hi guys!

I am an international student from Asia currently studying pharmacology in a big research university in Canada. I am thinking of applying to grad programs in the US next year cycle, and am wondering where I stand in terms of admission. Since many of the people have just gone through (or still going through) the admission, I thought if you could give me some advice!

GPA: mid 3.5

Research Experience: 4 years (3 wet labs & 1 year internship in clinical lab)

Papers: 4 co-author but all in clinical

Other factors: two business & finance internship, International student

I am thinking of applying to; Columbia, Michigan, Johns Hopkins, UCSD (and some other good school that you recommend?:)

I know the "what is my chance" question is not very practical, but since I am making a big career change (I was intending to work in business) I would like to know my situations well before I make the move.

Thank you so much guys! and Congrats & Good Luck to everyone!:)

I'd say that your credentials are really solid.  However, those are all top tier programs.  I'd highly consider applying to some middle tier programs as well (Vanderbilt, Purdue, Rochester, Florida, etc).  Not saying that you won't get in to the ones you're looking at, but those are some of the most competitive schools in the field.  

I'm Canadian, and so I'm treated like any other international applicant, though the fact that I went to school here might make a difference.  I have similar numbers to you, but less research and no publications.  As you can see from my sig, I got interviewed at 4 good programs, and have already been accepted to Sloan-Kettering.  Just make sure you have good LOR and a strong personal statement and you should be OK.  Also, some state/public schools are mandated to accept more Americans, so keep that in mind.