Low AWA score, high Q/V

pterosaur

I'm applying for bioengineering and neuroscience PhD programs and just got my GRE scores. I got 169 V / 166 Q, but I only got 3.5 on writing. I'm quite a good writer in general, so I'm surprised by this. I didn't think the writing section went spectacularly, but I didn't think it went that badly.

So what do I do with these scores? Just try to write a really great statement of propose to show them I know how to write?

Bummer, so close to near perfection.  I think the AWA is the least important section and for sciences even less so.  "they say" that 3.5 to 4.0 is "safe".  It did annoy me when I got a 4.0 and I ended up re-taking even though I said I would never take the GRE over.  I studied a little and got a 5.0 the second time, so you can study for that test of formulaic writing.  I was surprised by my verbal too, it went from 163 to 168, which was a pleasant surprise.  Too bad my Q didn't change much :(

My scores are fairly similar (tiny bit lower) 162V, 168Q, 4.0. I have always been complimented on my academic writing and scored higher when I took the GRE before my masters so I was also very surprised by the score. I decided not to retake.

The first time I took the GRE I think I got a 4 on the Writing, 58th percentile and a perfect score on the verbal.  And I know that I'm a good writer.  My quant was also kinda low at 157.  I took it again, but my strategy for the writing was to practice writing BS essays.  I mentioned this in another post, but I would do the practice essays and try to reference the work of various scholars in the field.  I used the dwarves in the Hobbit  and made up research that supported my point of view.  The thing about the writing part that I think I had most trouble wrapping my head around is that you can MAKE STUFF UP. And you should make up a lot of it.