Where to place illness related to performance

While writing my SOP, I decided that it would be best to address a low spot in my college career.  It did not result in horrible grades, my GPA is still over 3.2, but I want to address that I was dealing with outside mental health issues.  Despite these issues, I am still working on an honors thesis and have been able to recover and continue working hard to excel in school.

My question is this: Where do I place this information in my SOP?  I am afraid of finishing my SOP with this, because I don't want to finish on something potentially negative.

Roughly this is what my outline is:

- Discussion of current research project
- Other larger projects I have worked on, involving primary research (I am a history student)
- Why I want to attend each specific school

Any critique of this would be appreciated as well, I am not sure what exactly to included in terms of other projects that I have worked on.

Note: I anticipate that there will be a lot of differing opinions on this topic and I'm not saying my advice here is the only good one. But I hope my opinion below helps you decide what the best path for you will be!

WIth only these details, I think my advice would be to not mention this at all in your SOP. As you said, it didn't result in horrible grades and it does not sound like there was significant impact in your performance. So, unless this experience/difficulty has direct impact on your academic decisions / reasons for attending specific schools, then I would not include it in the SOP at all. This is because in my opinion, the SOP is a place to discuss the professional / academic aspects of your life, not the personal ones (except for the reason I just stated).