Coding

Wozezeka

This is a bit out of place but I figured y'all would have good advice!

I'm starting my masters in public affairs this fall and I am interested in learning to code over the summer. An MPA involves analyzing data and I've heard that R and Python are good for statistics. What recommendations would you have for what code to learn?

I hear Matlab has good support for statistics, although I haven't used it myself. Whatever language you use though, make sure you have a good environment / easy-to-use graphical interface to develop in (they are called IDEs). You can have the best language for statistical analysis, but if you have to learn how to code via the command line you'll be having a whole other host of issues that will slow you down

I would recommend R or python, but I am not a computer scientist. I do a lot of Bayesian statistical analysis in my research and I love python. My former officemate swears by R.

I think these two languages are the best because:

1) They are free. While my school provides me with tons of MATLAB licenses, I can't always count on this in postdocs or future work. I want to be developing code during grad school that I can use forever.

2) They are modern and continually updated, especially with statistical packages!

It seems you haven't coded before, so I would suggest you start with Python, it is a very strong language, also it is easy to learn.

After a while you can learn R and MATLAB too, I don't know so much about R but I know MATLAB is amazingly strong in every mathematical field.

Thanks!! I will look in to python. Any suggestions to gain background understanding about how all this works? I learned some HTML in high school and college but that was a while back.