BA in Linguistics, looking to get a masters in SLP. Do I have a decent chance?

Hi everyone! I was hoping to get some advice in regards to what I can do to improve my chances of getting in to a SLP program.

I majored in Linguistics, where I did a semester of research for a joint Psychology/Linguistics lab. I have a 3.48 GPA, and my GRE scores are 164 verbal/ 155 quant. (I'm also a veteran, does that factor in at all?) I'm strongly considering applying to either the online SLP undergrad programs at Eastern New Mexico University or Utah State University. 

I would like to study SLP at Howard, Maryland, or George Washington. 

My questions are

-Should I retake the GREs?

-Should I apply for programs that would allow me to finish the SLP undergrad courses, or should I try to finish them before I get into a program?

-Should I try to find a way to do research? 

Thanks!

I'm ex-military myself - welcome!  Not sure if veteran experience helps but I'm sure it doesn't hurt as at the very least it shows strong commitment to something that is pretty tough, not to mention long-term.  Our dept head (in the process of retiring) is ex-military and he seemed excited and wanted to chat when I mentioned my vet status.  So you never know!