What coursework is needed to get into a masters program in wildlife biology?

indecisiveemu

Was wondering if anyone could recommend what basic coursework one should have before applying to a masters program in wildlife bio. I have a bachelors already but it is in a different field so I was hoping I could take classes at a nearby college to start building up my science background. But I'm wondering exactly how much I will need and specifically which courses, as I'm not sure where to start or how long I can expect this to take. One school I'm particularly interested in is Humboldt, so I looked up the prereqs for their graduate classes, but based on how many there are, with extensive prereqs in very specific upper division wildlife courses, not just general bio/chem, it looks like I would need to complete another entire bachelors degree before applying. Is this true? I was under the impression that applying with an undergraduate degree from another field was fairly common, but it doesn't look very possible at Humboldt? I've tried e-mailing and calling the department to ask but have had no response yet.

I don't know about Humboldt, but generally speaking, a degree in some sort of biological or environmental major (General Biology, Ecology, Environmental Science, etc) is fine, but you should have some field experience related to the kind of project you want to pursue. For example, if you want to work with birds, some volunteer work at a banding station would be good. If you're interested in wildlife diseases, volunteering at a wildlife rehab center would work. If you lack any field experience, it's going to be difficult to convince a prospective advisor to work with you, and doubly so if you don't have a degree in a related field.