International students in non-STEM fields and postdocs

Silverstars

Hi, I am an international student in the social sciences in a field not classified as STEM by DHS. This means that I have 1 year (on OPT) to work in the US after I graduate from my doctoral program. I am exploring postdoc options and I realized that I will most likely get put on a J1 visa if I do find a postdoc with a professor at a university. The J1 visa, unfortunately, comes with a 2 year home residency requirement that requires you to go back to your home country in most cases before you can transfer to a H1B visa or permanent residency. A couple of immigration lawyers I have talked to have told me to avoid this visa like the plague, because getting a waiver of this requirement is really painful and lengthy and can potentially block me from seeking a TT position in the US. No university will hire me without getting this requirement waived, and because the waiver process is long and academic job cycles happen a year in advance, the timing may just not match up. Based on a little research I did, most universities either refuse or seem hesitant to sponsor H1B (work) visas for postdocs, particularly in the current political climate. Students from STEM fields do not have this issue, as their F1 visa allows them to work for 3 years after graduating.

There is basically no scope for social science research in my home country, so I really want to stay here. But a postdoc is basically an unofficial requirement for R1 university jobs in my field, and I feel like I'm already at a disadvantage compared to domestic applicants because I cannot get NSF/NIH/USDA postdoctoral fellowships as they are citizenship restricted. If I give up on the postdoc altogether, I'm worried that I won't be competitive for jobs at bigger research schools.