Anybody feeling high from the March for Science?

ncrna

I was curious about the psychology behind collective action, so I had a dig around on the paper+patent discovery engine sparrho.com (disclaimer: I work there!)

There aren't that many free-to-access papers on this topic, and I'm no psychology expert (my PhD's in biochemistry), but I summarised 4 interesting papers here: https://www.sparrho.com/pinboard/marching-for-science-research-behind-protests/164012/landing/

I'd love to hear your thoughts and personal experiences from the March, and any expert opinion would be much appreciated!

So excited to see a post about the Science March--I was just about to post about it as well! I definitely consider myself to be an "activist," and I'm involved with a lot of organizations and support many different causes related to social/political/environmental justice movements. I also study cultural anthropology, so every time I attend a protest or demonstration, the most exciting part is sometimes just observing how different people come together and how they act when they're all representing the same cause or idea. I certainly am no expert on collective action, but there are cultural anthropologists out there who study social movements from an ethnographic perspective, focusing on collective action among specific populations, so there's definitely a lot written on what you're describing.