Grad school advice needed for Elec. Eng.

Sephi226

Hello everyone, I'm a senior electrical engineer at Rice University and I was hoping I could get some advice about my situation in applying to graduate school. I am not graduating this year for reasons I will explain later, but my breakdown goes as such:

Major: EE

minor: Applied Math

GPA: 3.48, Major:3.57 / 4.00

GRE: 780M 680V 5W

Experience/Employment

Rice University – Researcher under Dr. Zhong Spring 2010 – present

• Design a quad-rotor helicopter that is self-balancing via microcontrollers and sensors.

S&G Imports – Contract Engineer Spring 2010 – present

• Head engineer and project consultant for a commercial bar breathalyzer. I’ve redone the product for more accurate sensing and am incorporating a smart interface with touchscreen controls among other capabilities.

Rice University − Teaching Assistant for ELEC 301 Fall 2009

Rice University − Research Intern – Compressive Sensing – Dr. Baraniuk Summer 2009

• Created a 3-D projection system, performed Compressive Sensing on images and studied other methods such as Compressive Structured Light.

Rice University − Teaching Assistant for ELEC241 Fall 2008

Baylor College of Medicine − Lab Assistant for Dr. Scott Pletcher Summer 2008

• Engineered devices for Dr. Pletcher to improve his lab’s efficiency such as creating and programming a robotic arm from servo motors to incorporate into a fly counting system I engineered via photointerrupts.

Honors:

Louis J Walsh scholarship for Engineering (2008), F & M Rogers Scholarship (2008), National Hispanic Scholar (2005), Rice Intramural Billiards Champion (2008), National Society of Collegiate Scholars Inductee (2006).