MA in East Asian Studies 19fall

meemeee

Hi all!

Looking for tips on application for MA/ PhD programs in EAS (GRE and statement of purpose in particular) 

I want to apply to the following programs(maybe just some preliminary ideas): RSEA at Harvard, MA in East Asian Studies at Yale, MAPSS at UChicago, PhD in Sociology/ History/PoliSci at Michigan, and maybe some others. 

I graduated January this year and am working in an unrelated field right now.TBH, it was a hard decision that I've made up my mind to pursue an advanced degree in social science/ humanities. I've been caught up by the dilemma between 1. doing meaningless corporate job but thereby having a reasonable degree of financial security 2. taking a risk to do what I've been truly passionate for. Since I don't want to go deep in debt, I have to count on the financial support from these graduate programs (which limited my choices to a few).

I did take GRE once earlier this year; I got V165, Q165, AW3.5. My writing score was surprisingly low and I suppose I can still improve on Q. (dunno how good is good enough to receive full package ???) 

Some background info about me:

graduated with honors from a top Asian university 

polisci major, minor in Japanese Studies

Bilingual in English and Chinese, understand Japanese

One-year study abroad in Japan

Did some RA work under an IR professor who promised to publish my report as a book chapter (on Japanese politics)

Senpais, pls enlighten me on what to do next! Thank you all in advance!!!

2 hours ago, meemeee said:

PhD in Sociology/ History/PoliSci at Michigan, and maybe some others