V: 650 Q: 600, Is this a good score?

JohnP

I'm trying to get into a Masters Program for Clinical Psychology or I/O Psychology. I know I can break 700 on the Verbal, but feel like I got lucky with the 600 on the math portion. Who knows, maybe if I get myself a tutor I can keep my math score at or above 600 and get a score over 1300. Should I retake? My college GPA was a measly 2.9 (graduated college in 1995). I've taken 4 pre-req's at a JC and received all A's (I'm 38 years old now). My work experience is 12 years in outside sales. The first six years I worked as a straight commission print salesman and the last six I worked as a pharmaceutical sales rep consulting psychiatrists and behavioral pediatricians on ADHD medications. I feel my work experience is strong, I feel my college GPA is weak, I feel my GRE scores are slightly above average. I just don't know what schools I'm qualified to apply for. It's quite a daunting task to have all these possibilities while at the same time knowing what to do with what you have.

EDIT: Wait, I just realized you're going for a Masters, not PhD. In that case, maybe it's a little less rigorous. But I'll leave my comment up any way for anyone interested in PhD programs.

Take my opinion with a grain of salt, but here goes: