I want to go to engineering grad school in the USA but my mind is so cluttered and don't know how to proceed.

Mark314

Hello everyone. I'm an engineer. More specifically, I'm a mechatronics engineer. I live and work in Mexico for a medium-sized company that manufactures pumps. I've been working for said company for about 1.5 years. I work in the area of industrial automation, mostly with PLCs, HMIs and implement them on factory machines.

This is my first job, and honestly I've been feeling stuck on it. I don't like what I'm doing, as my job consists mostly on countless and pointless meetings, reading catalogues, working with Excel spreadsheets, and fixing faulty machines on the plant. My job is more or less 40% desk job, 60% plant job. The "desk" part is boring and unimaginative, ladder logic "programming" and testing PLCs; and the "plant" part involves working in a dusty, noisy environment putting off fires whenever a machine goes down.

I'm working at the R&D department of the company, but I do neither research nor development. All the other engineers in the department have a more research related job, like they make simulations, calculations and test their designs in the laboratory. I'm the only individual that works in a completely different thing, and most of the time I'm not surrounded by other engineers but mostly technicians and machine operators. The worst part is that other industrial automation jobs are very similar, and it's so frustrating; especially since I don't have a master's degree so any job that I apply will be the same thing.