Is it possible that this MPP program could prevent me from a PhD later on?

cupcakequeen4444

Question

I'm planning on going back to school to get my master's, and I really want to focus on something that will get me closer to my goal of doing education policy research, preferably in a think tank or consulting group. My BA is in public policy, but that was 3 years ago. I'm now in a "research" job full time that is really not that rigorous -- think, market research for a big company, and only tangentially related to my interest in education.

I knew I wanted to do ed policy research as soon as I graduated, but at the time, I was so ridiculously broke I couldn't imagine taking out a huge chunk of loans to pursue my MPP acceptance from UChicago, so that's why I'm doing it 3 years + a savings account later. Most importantly, my employer is offering to pay for my master's degree as long as I can still work full time or have minimal schedule interruptions, so I really want to take advantage of this opportunity and make the right decision -- that means I can consider local, flexible programs or online only.

Here's where I'm most interested:

• Johns Hopkins, MEd Policy - online

• Northeastern, MPP - hybrid online and in person (offers a 6 mo internship after the MPP with a policy/related employer)

• American University, MPAP - online