Middle East Studies

salwa

I am currently looking into getting my masters in middle east studies for the fall of 2012 and just had a few questions. I don't have a background in middle east studies, I graduated with a bachelors degree in finance. I've decided that I would rather pursue middle east studies and eventually earn a PhD and teach. I was wondering how favorable a candidate I would be without a formal background and the likelihood of being accepted. Also, should I take some classes in the field in the mean time or would that be a waste of time and money? Any information would be much appreciated.

Without requisite language knowledge, it may be very difficult for you to get accepted. By requisite I mean at least a year or two of study of the Middle Eastern language central to your area/field of inquiry. Depending on the university, this also may include reading knowledge of one modern European language. It's always recommended that one have exposure to the field prior to commencing graduate study, so taking a few classes in ME history, law, ethics, politics, economy, etc. would definitely benefit your application success. I would also recommend that you peruse the "application" section of thegradcafe and look into the factors that make an application successful. Middle Eastern Studies has become an incredibly competitive field, with many more applying than before, so you'll want to do everything you can to improve your application.