Masters Application from the UK

ssk2

Hi all,

I applied to Stanford, CMU and UT Austin for their MS CS courses respectively. The first two rejected me and I think the third was incomplete because one of my letters wasn't submitted. I'm wondering whether it's worth applying again next year with an improved application, and to more universities.

My application was as follows-

Statement of Purpose - reasonably good, I had it proof read by a lecturer, a couple of current PhD students and as many well spoken friends as I could. Post rejection though, our careers service had a look and said that it wasn't crystal clear why exactly they should give me a place over another candidate.

GRE - 780Q, 590V. 89th and 84th percentile respectively.

Transcript/GPA - this is different to most US universities. I studied my undergraduate at the University of Cambridge and graduated with a 2.i degree which roughly equates to a 3.0 - 3.4 GPA. We don't have a calculated GPA and my transcript shows raw marks which, I imagine, look quite unimpressive. I struggled during my first two years and my exam scores are low - between 50 and 65%. My final year I did much better but the scores are still between 55% and 79%, putting me in the top half of my year group.

Letters of Recommendation - with the exception of one referee, two of my letter writers had no experience of the U.S. university system. Whilst I tried to give them as much guidance as possible, I suspect that at least one of these letters was rushed and not nearly as strong as it could have been. That was a from a senior lecturer too.

I graduated in 2009, I've been working in London for the last two years - first at an investment bank and then I left to join Last.fm. I'm also doing some research in collaboration with a lecturer from a nearby university. I have no idea whether this will yield a paper or not by application time in Autumn.

I'd love to hear what you think-

1) Do I have a chance? Is it worth applying again?