Joint degree programs worth it?

alskdjfh

I'm new here to Gradecafé and was hoping some of you grad students could help me.

Although I'm still an undergraduate, I was looking into potential graduate programs and came across joint degree programs (MBA/MA, MA/PHD, MPHIL/MDIV, etc). Do these joint programs hold weight in "the real world"? At first they were appealing since you're obtaining two graduate degrees for less time/money, but is it worth cutting part of one program to add to another?

For what it's worth, I was thinking of applying to a master of public policy and a master of international development program. But what about MBA/JD programs? Surely cutting out parts from either would "water down" the program, right?

What abour MA/PHD joint programs? If they're leading towards a Ph.D, wouldn't picking up a master's degree essentially "look good"? (not saying the only reason why i'd get a MA/MS in a master's/doctorate program would be to "look good" but that's beside the point)

Edited by alskdjfh

Pursuing a joint degree isn't something you should do based on the motivation "two degrees look better than one." If a dual/joint degree suits your needs, it's an option worth investigating.

Knowing that I want to work in health care policy, I looked at degrees from both the schools public policy and public health at the university I'll be attending. I want the quantitative rigor (quantitative program evaluation, econometrics, analysis using various programs) I would get from the policy program, but decided I wanted more immersion in health care courses than a two-year MPP could provide. The program in health management and policy at the school of public health offers courses that appeal to me on this level--but the MPH is very structured, and with that alone I'm unable to take all of the "policy analysis" classes I'd set my sights on. The MPP/MPH is a perfect marriage of curricula for me. Importantly, I was also able to work it out financially.