Decision for Linguistics Program

afraymi

I am an international student and have applied to these universities for Linguistics Ph.D. :

1-Chicago

2-Johns Hopkins (Cognitive and Linguistics)

3-Cornell

4-Brown (Cognitive and Linguistics)

5- McGill

6- UIUC

7- UMich

8- UWashington Seattle

9- Maryland

10-Arizona Tucson

11- Rutgers

12- UMass Amherst

13- Austin Texas

14- Northwestern

I have admission letter from Cornell and very good emails for interview from McGill, Brown and an offer of TAship from UIUC. I withdraw from Arizona last day after a positive interview.

I don't know which one to choose. Is it okay if i withdraw from McGill and Brown?

My top choices are Chicago, Johns Hopkins, Cornell, Brown, McGill. How do i choose one of them? (I have no news from Johns Hopkins and Chicago yet)

I'm married and depend upon the university fund. I need to choose the program which i can easily find an academic job after graduation.

All the programs have been carefully selected and match with my research interests.

Would you please help me to compare my top choices?

Edited by afraymi

What are the priorities here? What are your research interests? What will your spouse be doing - working or staying at home (i.e., are you looking for a place where there are job opportunities for your spouse)? What kind of funding are you being offered? Does weather play a role in the decision? A number of the schools you list have a very good placement record but it also depends on what you do, and where you hope to end up.

I'm an international student so my spouse won't be able to work, she is going to work on her Egnlish and apply the next year for Master/Ph.D. in Architecture. My field is phonetics/phonology/computational lingiustics. I want the most reputable one. The one that i can easily find a teaching position after graduation.

So my priorities are the ones that will give me the best job offer after graduation.