GRE for International Relations, retake?

irapplicant1776

Hi everyone,

On the GRE I got 165 verbal, 149 quant, waiting on analytical writing. I studied for months using Magoosh and am disappointed at my quant score, but math has never been my strong point. 

However, besides my quant score, I think I have a fairly strong application:

3.94 undergrad GPA, Summa Cum Laude, Phi Beta Kappa, Honors Program
5 years abroad since graduating, including two as a Peace Corps Volunteer
Two foreign languages, including one critical needs language
I expect to have great letters of recommendation, including one from a former professor who also mentored me at an intergovernmental organization, and could testify to work that I did that required quantitative ability. 
Math for liberal studies, microeconomics, macroeconomics, Intro to Statistics - all As

I plan to apply to Korbel, Fletcher, Georgetown SFS, American SIS and SAIS. I've seen that my verbal score is above average, and my quant score is below average. Do you think it's necessary to attempt to get a higher quant score?

Edited by irapplicant1776

Hey, so I am by no means an expert on this topic, since I'm in the same boat as you are - applying for Fall 2016 entry to IR and MPA/MPP programs, PCV experience, etc. I can only give my opinion on what I'd do in your particular scenario, as I'm in the midst of making the same decisions myself. I'm applying to Georgetown SFS, Johns Hopkins SAIS, GW SIA, American SIS, Columbia SIPA, Tufts Fletcher, Princeton WWS and Harvard KSG.