GRE scores for Ecology PhD

antares1

Hey! I'm hoping someone can help me decide whether to retake the GRE. Here are my stats:

GRE Verbal: 159 // GRE Quant: 156 // GPA: 3.93

I have lots of research experience (lab tech, REU), and I'm applying for PhD programs in Ecology/Entomology. I'm hoping to be admitted to top programs like UC Davis, UC Berkeley, UMass Amherst, and University of Arizona. I don't have a good sense of what good GRE scores are or if I'll be a competitive applicant with these scores. Should I retake? If so, what scores should I shoot for?

Thanks!

I got several questions. 

A) Do you have a lot of research experience?

B ) How good do you anticipate your rec letters to be? 

C) Are you an underrepresented minority? 

(I guess it's also relevant to ask your school ranking) 

Edited by Bioenchilada

Hi! To answer your questions, (A) yes, I have done an REU and worked as a lab technician. I have one paper in review for publication. (B) I anticipate very strong rec letters. (C) I am not an underrepresented minority. Thanks!

How many years of research would you say you have done? (Some schools ask this information) 

Do you attend a top school?

Who is recommending you?