Please review my first GRE essay.

nitv07

This is my first attempt on Issue essay. I have not restricted myself to 30 min time frame. I would like to know if this is the proper approach Issue essay or not. 

Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

When citizens have voted for a particular government, they have certain expectations from the chosen government. Those expectations are - government shall stick to their words, work for the society in solving problems and address to their needs. So when a government comes to power, they are obliged to solve the problems of the citizens and deliver results to society. And the efforts of the government will only be visible to citizens when they solve immediate problems on a higher priority.

Consider a case where a bridge connecting two cities is under urgent requirement for maintenance on the quality of road. It is due to this lack of maintenance that causes traffic jams across the bridge, creating difficulties for daily commuters and even other travelers. If the newly elected government chooses to address this issue and starts working on its maintenance, and completes the work on time, it would instill a sense of trust among the citizens. Their daily commute is now less bumpy and it is even faster. This is one of the ways in which a government can win over its citizens, making the citizens believe that their decision of voting for the government is yielding better results.