my GRE score........

hl348

I am applying to Cornell(Master's program in Africana Studies) and I got Q: 760(85%) V: 600(86%) AW: 4.5(63%)....

The program doesnt require GRE scores but it does recommend the applicants to take it....

is the score bad/good for the program? I think the verbal(AW too...) is pretty low esp. when compared to native speakers who are going into social sciences or humanities field.(I am an international student though..)

Edited by hl348

Your scores are good, don't worry about them. I would have said that even if you were a native speaker, but they are certainly good for an international--85th+ percentile will get you past any cutoffs. Then, as they say, it's up to the rest of the application to get you in; but these scores won't keep you out.

The AW is the least important part of the GRE. You don't need to worry if you do well on the TOEFL and submit well written essays (SOP and writing sample).

ETA: Wow, the percentiles have seriously changed since last year! I also got a 4.5 and the percentile was somewhere in the 50s.

Edited by fuzzylogician

I am applying to Cornell(Master's program in Africana Studies) and I got Q: 760(85%) V: 600(86%) AW: 4.5(63%)....

The program doesnt require GRE scores but it does recommend the applicants to take it....

is the score bad/good for the program? I think the verbal(AW too...) is pretty low esp. when compared to native speakers who are going into social sciences or humanities field.(I am an international student though..)