Harvard HGSE PH.D Approved... Consequences?

ismeress

As has been hinted on a few of these forums, the creation of a Ph.D program jointly offered by HGSE and FAS was approved...

http://www.gse.harvard.edu/news-impact/2012/03/ph-d-in-education-approved/

According to this article, there seems to be 1 more year of Ed.D admits ("HGSE’s Ed.D. Program, which will enroll its final cohort in the fall of 2013") which means that those applying fall of THIS year (not yet applied) will still be applying for the Ed.D.

Does anyone know of any plans for how those in the Ed.D program would be allowed to transfer into the Ph.D program? I was considering applying this fall, but am very hesitant to be part of a last cohort of a certain degree..

Hi folks - found this site while looking for admit rates (trying to avoid a U.S. News subscription) and thought I'd register and contribute.

I'm a current first-year doctoral student at HGSE. To answer your questions re: the approved Ph.D. program:

Does anyone know of any plans for how those in the Ed.D program would be allowed to transfer into the Ph.D program? I was considering applying this fall, but am very hesitant to be part of a last cohort of a certain degree..

This is a big issue, and one that is causing some consternation here. The short story is that "we don't know." The dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, who recently vacated his post (health issues), apparently was of the opinion that current Ed.D. students would need to re-apply with the general applicant pool. The current dean is in an interim post, but I haven't heard him express an opinion either way. The proposal to the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (the one they just approved) didn't mention anything about possible transitions to the new program.