Is MS in Robotics at CMU a good step for a future PhD?

nalsrayatko

Hi folks,

I am currently a MS student in a good engineering school in my country and also have double BS degrees in Computer and Electrical Engineering from the same school. I applied for both MS and PhD in Robotics of Carnegie Mellon University in order to increase my chance to get admitted for Fall 2009. Luckily, I have been admitted to MS in Robotics program, but rejected for PhD in Robotics. In fact, my final goal is study to on control, develop autonomous system and to get a PhD in Electrical & Computer Engineering (ECE) or Electrical Engineering&Computer Science (EECS) from a top engineering university (MIT, Stanford, UC Berkeley, UIUC, Caltech, CMU), but I do not any hope that I could achieve that at this time. Therefore, since CMU is a very well-known university in robotics, I seriously consider getting a second MS degree in robotics and then reapplying those program with better qualifications and records one or two year later. However, I am not sure that this is a good way and hope to get some help to make every thing clearer.

1) Is this program a good step for a future PhD and academic career based on its curriculum and is it an academical or professional MS program and different from any other MS programs in other universities ?

http://www.ri.cmu.edu/ri_static_content ... enu_id=322

2) Although I know that admission process of the top engineering schools are very competitive and they make decision based on several criteria (research experience, skills, GPA, references, publications etc. ), will getting a MS degree in robotics from CMU increase my chance to get a PhD in top schools? Is the MS in Robotics program as good as MS programs in ECE, EECS of MIT, Stanford..?

Thanks in advance

The question here is what you do with the degree. Naturally being at a top university will give you access to top professors which to work with.