GPA conundrum

larat333

I graduated 6 years ago with a low GPA of 3.2 (BEng from UK).

Have recently scored a 100% in GRE math and 96% in verbal.

I have 5 years work ex , with a few impressive research assignments under my belt.

I want to apply for PhD from a good (top 15) universities. My question is - is it really worth spending on application given my low GPA? thanks a lot.

Uh, a 3.2 GPA is not low.  Why people still believe this junk is beyond me.  Also, I have yet to hear of a "competitive" STEM program that had a cut-off GPA higher than 3.0, if they even had a cut-off.  It seems to me that the most competitive programs in STEM do not have a minimum GPA standard (but you can believe that the majority of applicants have GPAs a the higher end of 3.X).  Competitive programs in STEM tend to take on the holistic approach to applications.  I mean, even MIT admits to occasionally admitting grad students with 2.X GPAs or sub-50 percentile GRE scores.  When it comes to STEM, research experience almost always trumps GPA, and, SOP trumps all. 

But seriously, you got a perfect score in quant I wouldn't worry about it. 

Your five years of "real-world" work experience plus those "impressive" research assignments are enough to outweigh your GPA...which is not that bad. 

So yes, apply away!  

Forgot to mention....

...grad programs in the U.S. do all sorts of things to your undergraduate GPA.  Some take it as-is.  Some remove all unnecessary courses and recalculate. Some only consider the last 60 credits/units.  And so on.  

Work experience definitely can make up for a low GPA.  

This is so true and I am 100% sure this contributed LARGELY to my recent success this round of applications.  Your GRE scores sound great, and the research experience matters a great deal.  As other have said, a 3.2 GPA is not stellar but it certainly isn't poor.  I think you should give it your best shot.

Guest Gnome Chomsky