Chances of getting into a top school?

tbjacks

Hello all,

I'm a history undergrad at Carleton University in Ottawa going into my fourth year. I'm going to be returning to the US to do my grad work. I know that getting into a school is mostly about "fit"--but I was wondering if I could get some insight into what kind of chances I have to get into a top school. My first choice is Berkeley as I want to go into cultural history and have found some profs I'd like to work with.

I haven't done the GRE yet (two more weeks!), but I don't feel as if my score is going to be stellar. My quant score is going to be pretty awful as in Canada we don't have to take any math/science/etc. classes in uni so I'm pretty rusty. Anyway... I have a 3.7 GPA, am going to have at least one published article (hopefully going to have at least one more by the end of the year), and was a research assistant in my 3rd year. I also presented at an undergrad conference.

What do you guys think? Do schools care about publications and conferences, or does every competitive candidate have those qualifications?

I'm just really nervous and would like to know where I stand. Thanks for any and all advice! :)