Latin American Studies MA- Fall 2015

twentysix

I wanted to create a thread for Latin American Studies for this application year. I am starting to hear back from universities. Where have you applied and have you received any acceptances/rejections yet? Also, what is your focus within Latin American Studies? 

I applied to:

University of Wisconsin (accepted, but they do not fund any grad students)

University of California, San Diego (accepted and nominated for a fellowship)

University of California, Los Angeles (no response yet)

University of Texas, Austin (no response yet)

Tulane University (no response yet)

I am focusing on the history and archaeology of colonial Mesoamerica. In May, I will earn a BS in Anthropology (Archaeology) with a Sociology minor and a BA in History with Spanish as a foreign language. 

I study comparative Latin American politics. I am an international student.

I got accepted to UT Austin. Also applied to UChicago and am waiting for a response but can't justify going there over the former. I applied to some other programs in political science but will probably accept the UT Austin admit. 

No. I don't think there is much funding available for international students. Although I am fairly certain I can secure an RA position so I am not really that concerned about it. I am technically "in review" still as well but got unofficially accepted from the LAS department. Don't know what that means for your application?

There is nothing that I can really do but wait on the other three schools. UCSD has been very helpful and has had prompt responses to all of the questions that I have asked. Also, funding looks promising, as well as priority housing status. 

The University of Wisconsin outrightly told me that no RA/TA exists within their LACIS program (and since submitting my application to the University of Wisconsin, their university system is under siege by their governor... to the tune of $300 million).