Should I Inform My Former Professors/LoR Providers?

Hi, all!

This is my first time posting, but I've found the Grad Cafe superbly helpful throughout my college career, so I have high hopes.  ^_^

A little personal background before my dilemma: I have a Bachelor of Arts in English with a minor in History from one institution and a Master of Arts in English from another. I am currently living near the former. I recently applied to a few PhD in English programs but was not accepted into any (I didn't expect to be, though, as I realize it'll take some padding of my resume before I get in).

More recently, I scored an interview at the end of this week with my undergraduate alma mater for a student affairs coordinator position, which is great for two reasons: 1) Finally getting my foot in the door of university employment to hopefully be on my way to getting some adjunct instructor positions; and 2) the university offers 6 credits' worth of free courses each semester.

My dilemma essentially revolves around #2. While padding my resume with teaching and work experience as well as a couple publications in preparation for further PhD applications, I figure I might as well take advantage of the two free courses employees of my alma mater get each semester since—like most here, I'm sure—I love to learn, and I figure I can even expand over time what I'm qualified to teach.

While I don't have the job yet, I have some hints that it's likely (pending a series of successful interviews with several individuals), and if I want to take advantage of the two free courses, I need to apply now for the fall. I'm looking at a graduate program in International Affairs, for which I believe I'm a shoo-in based on its stated admissions requirements (it's also a brand-new program, I found out, so I wonder if there won't be as many applications for it as for other, more established programs?).