Relevant research experience for PhD

Ash04

I have a masters degree in Biotechnology and I have been working for 5 years as research associate. My first job was in Cancer genomics and I was very much fascinated by application of genomics and precision medicine in treating and diagnosing cancer. I primarily worked with DNA, using different techniques to study cancer genomes. I wanted to see how this knowledge can be applied to other fields like immunology and wanted to work on in-vitro studies. So I got an opportunity to study molecular mechanisms in influenza using cell culture and genomics. Now I am planning on planning on applying to PhD programs with concentration in Cancer genomics. Would me changing my job to study influenza affect my PhD application?

Thank you!

I have a masters degree in Biotechnology and I have been working for 5 years as research associate. My first job was in Cancer genomics and I was very much fascinated by application of genomics and precision medicine in treating and diagnosing cancer. I primarily worked with DNA, using different techniques to study cancer genomes. I wanted to see how this knowledge can be applied to other fields like immunology and wanted to work on in-vitro studies. So I got an opportunity to study molecular mechanisms in influenza using cell culture and genomics. Now I am planning on planning on applying to PhD programs with concentration in Cancer genomics. Would me changing my job to study influenza affect my PhD application?

Thank you!

It shouldn't affect much. Any research/work experience can only help your application, along with other factors.

Echoing aberrant, you would be welcomed in most cancer programs if you have that extensive of a research background - baring no complications and meeting the base requirements for applying to the program (GPA, GRE, SoP, LoRs, etc). 

• 2 months later...

Hi @eteshoe and @aberrant