MA/MSc in Europe (LSE, SOAS, IHEID...)

unagi

Hello,

Anyone applying to LSE programs, IHEID or SOAS? I'm planning on applying to the following:

LSE MSc Political Economy of Late Development
LSE MSc Social Policy and Development
IHEID MA Development Studies
SOAS MSc Development Studies

If so, let's share our questions/experiences!  :) 

I had one particular question: LSE's website says that the letter of rec needs to come from the "latest university department" that you graduated from. How accurate is this? I was going to have a professor (outside of my department that I graduated from) write my letter because I did extensive research under her supervision. This seems like a silly rule to me and I will call the admissions office. But I was wondering if you guys had any experience with this?

Thank you!!

I'm just beginning my research into schools, but am interested in the Master in International Law at IHEID. And for the price, it seems like I'd be an idiot not to apply! I assume that a degree from IHEID would be much more employable in Europe than in the US. Would you say that this is the case unagi?

@Unagi 

I have already submitted my applications to IHEID and Hertie School of Governance and now I'm pressuring my professors to submit the recommendation letters to those schools on my behalf.

I have my fingers X.

Good luck to you guys !

El pichichi that was super quick! Congrats!! I definitely think IHEID is a good school for potential employment post-grad. I am working on the application now so hopefully I am able to submit before the November 15 deadline. How was the application for you?

Good luck to you as well! :)

CakeTea I haven't come across any of those schools.... :( I am paying for all of mine so far....

Hi Unagi,