Funding/ Admission Problem...

surfgirl87

So I am in a predicament with my Doctorate.  

My husband is military, so I can go to approximately 1 school for my PhD.  Everything was going great, spoke to a faculty member I wanted to work with, he was willing to take me on.  However, funding is an issue here.  It is a geological oceanography (paleoclimatology) program, there are no undergrads at the College of Marine Science so no TA positions (too bad, I already teach at a College).  Funding is solely based on research grants and school scholarships and stipends.  So the faculty I was talking to did not get his grants.  So he has no money.  He told me I was not scholastically strong enough to really get a school scholarship.  What do I do? 

Is there a way to make my application stronger?  My undergrad is pretty terrible scholastically, but I did my masters at a top 5 institution for oceanography and have a 3.5 overall Grad GPA.  Would GRE scores matter?  I did pretty well (80% quantitative 5.5 written, 60% on that other section), but I am not against taking it again if it would strengthen my application.  Would taking a class at this college as Non-degree seeking in the Spring help my application for the fall?  I don't want to spend that money unless I know it will help me.  

Any input is welcome.

Since you've done a masters, the obvious two fellowships, GRF and Hertz fellowships are out of contention. Your problem is that a lot of the fellowships available (NASA, for example) want you to be a current graduate student. Are you 2 years removed from your masters degree (or will be at the time of application?) You might be eligible for both the Hertz and NSF GRF.

So I assume you are going to reapply next year (thats why you said you would take a class as a non degree student this spring). One option, is if this professor really wants you, you can spend the next months applying for research grants with him, focusing on what you want to do.