GRE of V149, Q151... highest of both tests: V155,Q151

msmalcolmx

Hello folks... I'm in the application season for PhD programs. My highest scores of two tests were  V155, Q151 (have not received the set score for the second).

No writing score yet on the 2nd due to it being taken this week. I know PhDs are harder to get into that Master's programs... I am applying to 15. Education and Business Admin (OB) are the foci of my programs. Has anyone gotten into these programs with such horrible scores? I also have a 3.8 GPA and 3 past research experiences (none published, but all displayed).

• 4 weeks later...

I'm in the same boat.  I have no publications (I completed a dual program - MBA/MA - Diplomacy & International Relations).  I bombed my GMAT, but it was the exact minimum score to get into my program.  GRE is 156V, 152Q, 4.5AW.  My GPA is a blend of the programs (3.66), but my MBA would be north of 3.9 alone (Diplomacy and IR was a new field for me and very, very background intensive).  I applied to 4 programs.  I've gotten 1 interview.  Nothing back on the others yet, but I'm sweating bullets.  Hoping my work experience and recommendations make a big difference.

On 12/26/2015 at 11:32 PM, msmalcolmx said:

Hello folks... I'm in the application season for PhD programs. My highest scores of two tests were  V155, Q151 (have not received the set score for the second).

No writing score yet on the 2nd due to it being taken this week. I know PhDs are harder to get into that Master's programs... I am applying to 15. Education and Business Admin (OB) are the foci of my programs. Has anyone gotten into these programs with such horrible scores? I also have a 3.8 GPA and 3 past research experiences (none published, but all displayed).

I'm not sure how well these numbers can be trusted, but Magoosh published an interesting infographic a few years back.

http://magoosh.com/gre/2014/gre-scores/