Improving my chances to get into grad school with low GPA

shatun92

So, my situation is the following. I graduated with 3.05 CGPA from Electrical Engineer department (my major GPA is similar, have 3,04 for 3/4 level classes. Also, took two graduate level classes). I currently work as electrical engineer and I am interested in going to grad. school for MSc (interested in University of British Columbia, University of Toronto and McGill). My first choice school (UBC) doesn't require GRE (it is listed as optional but I will take it anyways). I am also writing a research paper and plan to publish it. LOR: I will have two pretty strong LORs but from people in the industry.

Now the weak point: undergrad GPA. Since, I am currently working in a completely different country, going back to my school for post baccalaureate is not an option. But here what I thought would be a good idea: taking a 1.5 year professional Masters (goes as Master of Electrical Engineering) in the country where I currently work. Note, that is not a thesis option, so hopefully admission committee will not question why do I need a second Masters.

So the question is: will getting Masters of Electrical Engineering (non-thesis based) while I work full-time help with my chances of getting into grad school? If not, what would be your suggestions?

I am also an international student, even though I got BSc from the USA.

Thank you.

Edited by shatun92
Spelling

Forget the idea for a paper to help your chances for now. The timeline to get published is more than a year, especially if you get rejected or have a revise-and-resubmit. Getting a professional master's, in and of itself, will not help. You need to show committees you can handle graduate-level work, which means getting a GPA of 3.7 or higher.

Just now, GradSchoolTruther said: