Application hurdles

awesomewow

Hello,

I'm hoping to apply to PhD programs this fall but am concerned about some aspects of my application. For background, I graduated undergrad in 2014 with a 3.5 gpa (I was a soc major). I have several concerns about applying, but my main concern is that since I haven't kept in touch with any of my Sociology professors in undergrad, I'll have a difficult time finding relevant people to write me letters of recommendation. For the past year, I've been working as a research assistant at a federal contracting agency, but the bulk of my work has been on mental health and substance abuse research. I could potentially ask a researcher at work to write me a letter, but I don't work extremely closely with any of them and they're all psychologists / meta-analysts rather than Sociologists. Also, this past Spring, I took a grad level course in Sociology as a non-degree seeking student at UMD and I am wondering if it would be weird to ask that professor for a letter since I was only his student for a semester, and we didn't really have a personal relationship (I only saw him in class) and we only really had one substantial paper so I'm not sure he can say he knows my work. I am planning to reach out to some of my undergrad professors and am hoping one will remember me and write me a letter, but as for the rest I'm completely unsure who and how to ask. Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated!

Also, I took the GRE two years ago and got a 168 verbal 154 quantitative - I should retake to improve the latter, yes?

As you can tell, I'll likely have some holes in my application. What sort of schools / programs can I reasonably hope to be admitted to? Should I apply to MA programs just in case? Are any subfields particularly forgiving of low quant scores?

Thanks so much if you read this!! I really don't know where to turn as no one I'm close with irl has gone through this.

Edited by awesomewow