Statement of Purpose Question

Flux2

Hi,

If you were involved in a lot of projects, in your SOP would it be a good idea to mention the ones that are relevant to your interest, most recent projects, or all of them?

Thank!

What kind of projects were they? How relevant are they to your major? How recent is recent and how old is your oldest project? What do you hope to show the committee about your qualifications in succeeding in a PHD program by doing so?

I would try to mention anything that you got something out of and/or helped you grow as a scientist or a person. 

Edit: Of course, if you didn't get a LOR from the PI or talk about something you did in high school extensively, it'll raise some eyebrows.

Edited by Bioenchilada

My recent project is my master thesis project whereas what I consider old are projects done while I was an undergraduate.

all my projects are related to mymajor. The problem is that my research interests developed over time and some of those projects became irrelevant to the research topic I want to pursue 

10 minutes ago, Flux1100 said:

My recent project is my master thesis project whereas what I consider old are projects done while I was an undergraduate.

all my projects are related to mymajor. The problem is that my research interests developed over time and some of those projects became irrelevant to the research topic I want to pursue 

You should definitely mention them since those projects probably shaped you professionally and helped you get to where you are.

On 9/2/2016 at 11:30 PM, Flux1100 said:

I would mention the ones you didn't get a LOR from only briefly.  Obviously you want as much room as possible to talk about your master's thesis.  Also, in writing there is a "rule of 3" which easily corresponds to the 3 LoRs.  So to be most effective, choose 3 to talk about in detail and gloss over the others in 1-2 sentences.  Otherwise your SoP will be unbearably long or long and without important detail.

• 2 weeks later...