Waiting 2 years between college and grad school?

gaver77wool

I graduated from college this past spring with a BS in biology and want to get a PhD eventually. I didn't know that I really wanted to go to grad school until I started doing research during my senior year, so I didn't apply for this school year. I currently have a job as a research assistant at a well-known university doing genetics/developmental research (evo-devo research is the area I that I'd really like to study eventually). I am thinking about applying to grad school for the 2017-18 school year, but I'm not really sure if I'm ready. I just feel like I'll be rushing the application process now and won't take my time. I also had a difficult senior year (mentally) and I don't think I've fully recovered, so I don't if I really need time to sort things out or I'm just procrastinating. I just feel like I'm behind everyone else who is my age (career-wise) or that others will think I'm stupid for not applying now or that I really must not want to do research (but, I really do). Do you think it's okay to wait two years before applying to grad school?

Totally okay. 2 years is not a big deal. Many grad students are going to be coming into grad school a few years removed from undergrad, whether it's because they did something else, worked in industry, did a Masters, etc. I don't think most people will even notice that you are a different age.